Core values

Four key values guide our team:

Mahi tahi
Team work

We work as one to deliver great business outcomes.

Care in our work

We take care in our work, for each other, our whaanau, iwi and community.


We diligently protect, grow and sustain tribal wealth.

Pono me te tika
Honesty & Integrity

We build trust by being honest, open and respectful in everything we do.

TGH Who We Are

Te Arikinui Pullman Auckland Airport Hotel


Tainui Group Holdings - March Update 2019


Tainui Group Holdings in 60 Seconds


Tainui Group Holdings – Who We Are


Tainui Group Holdings Half-Year Report FY2019


Waikato-Tainui Annual Result 2018


Ruakura – Future Proof Your Business


TGH History - a growing success

Waikato-Tainui was the first major iwi to settle with the Crown in 1995 as part of the redress for breaches of the Tiriti o Waitangi (Treaty of Waitangi)

A pioneer in iwi economic development, the tribe has grown the wealth and increased opportunities for members ever since. Strong relationships between tribes has fostered TGH to participate in co-investment agreements with Ngaai Tahu Holdings and Te Arawa Group Holdings.


Board of Directors

Hinerangi Raumati-Tu’ua

Hinerangi (Waikato, Ngaati Mutunga) is the Chair of Tainui Group Holdings. She was appointed to the Board in November 2017 as a representative of Te Arataura, the executive committee of Te Whakakitenga o Waikato. Hinerangi is a fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, a member of the New Zealand Order of Merit, the current Chair of Moana NZ and former Chair of Paraninihi Ki Waitotara Incorporation. She is also a director of Sealord, Watercare and several iwi commercial entities. In 2017 Hinerangi was named the Maori Woman Business Leader of the Year.

Tania Simpson

Tania (Ngaati Raukawa, Ngaati Maniapoto) joined the TGH board in 2015. She was a director on the Boards of AgResearch and Landcare Research, and for Mighty River Power for 13 years. In 2014, she was the first Maaori director on the Reserve Bank of New Zealand Board, and she’s been a member of the Waitangi Tribunal since 2008.

Tukoroirangi Morgan

Tukoroirangi (Tuku) Morgan (Ngaati Makirangi, Ngaati Mahuta, Ngaati Maahanga) re-joined the Board in March 2021 following his appointment as a Te Arataura representative. Tuku has served the iwi in a wide range of capacities over three decades, including as the former Chair of Te Arataura, co-Negotiator for the Waikato River settlement and co-Chair of the Waikato River Authority. He is a former Member of Parliament and had an extensive career in broadcasting. Tuku previously served on the TGH Board from 2015 to 2017 and maintains interests in several business organisations.

Dean Bracewell

Dean (Ngaati Maniapoto) is an independent director and was Managing Director at transport and logistics company Freightways Group for almost 20 years. Prior to his appointment as a Director of Tainui Group Holdings in August 2019, Dean was an advisor to the TGH Board.

Rebecca Thomas

Rebecca is the founder and CEO of Mint Asset Management with 35 years’ experience in the funds management sector. She has held senior investment roles at ING (NZ) Ltd and Johnson Fry in the UK as well as directorships with the Financial Markets Authority and KiwiRail.

Mark Petersen

Mark was appointed to the Board of TGH in May 2020. He has a strong background in property and port governance, including with Augusta Capital Limited, Shortland Properties and CentrePort. Mark served as an Advisor to the TGH Board prior to his appointment as an independent director.

Lee Taharangi Gray

Lee Taharangi Gray (Waikato, Ngaati Maniapoto, Ngaati Apakura, Ngaati Raukawa, Ngaai Te Rangi, Kahungunu) is the inaugural ‘Future Director’ appointed in August 2019 as part of Te Ohu Amorangi, a programme designed to grow and develop director talent within Waikato-Tainui. Lee has a strong commercial background in Financial Leadership roles, professional services and as a committee member and advisor to Iwi Investment Boards.


  1. 1995
  2. 1996
  3. 1997
  4. 1999
  5. 2000
  6. 2001
  7. 2002
  8. 2003
  9. 2004
  10. 2006
  11. 2007
  12. 2008
  13. 2009
  14. 2010
  15. 2011
  16. 2012
  17. 2013
  18. 2014
  19. 2015
  20. 2016
  21. 2017
  22. 2018
  23. 2019
  1. The Waikato-Tainui Raupatu Claims Settlement Act passed by Parliament.
  2. Establishment of Tainui Corporation Ltd (TCL), as landlord for raupatu (land confiscated) returned to the iwi in the settlement; and Tainui Development Ltd (TDL) to oversee investments and development.
  3. Property transfers from the Crown begin as settlement under the terms of the Act.
  4. Tainui Group Holdings (TGH) is established to oversee TCL and TDL. Novotel Tainui opens in Hamilton, a 4-star 177 room hotel co-owned by TGH, Hamilton City Council and Accor.
  5. Waikato Raupatu Lands Trust established to rationalise Tainui-Waikato’s rapidly increasing asset portfolio to reflect market values.
  6. Strategic review identifies a division of commercial and tribal activities. First parcel of land sold to Callum Brae Tainui Joint Venture, creating the Huntingdon subdivision of 655 sections, sold over 14 years.
  7. Restructure of TGH as the key commercial arm of the iwi, with a new management team and assets of $166 million.
  8. John Spencer appointed Chair of TGH Board, and Steve Murray as CEO.
  9. Ownership of Waikato Raupatu Lands Trust’s commercial assets transferred to TGH.
  10. Total assets exceed $300 million. Mike Pohio appointed CEO.
  11. Construction begins on Ibis Tainui Hotel in the CBD and on Mitre 10 Mega at The Base. Assets of $11.4 million paid to Waikato-Tainui Fisheries as the first phase of Maaori Fisheries settlement.
  12. The Warehouse Group’s 50% share of The Base purchased by TGH. Combined assets total $496 million. Graduate recruitment programme launched. TGH, Accor and Auckland International Airport joint venture develops Novotel Auckland Airport Tainui hotel.
  13. Te Awa at The Base begins construction. Hamilton City Council’s Variation 21 planning change that favoured the CBD is successfully challenged by TGH.
  14. Te Awa at The Base completed.
  15. Novotel Auckland Airport Tainui hotel official opening.
  16. Sir Henry van der Heyden appointed Chair of TGH Board.
  17. Independent board of inquiry for Ruakura development begins.
  18. Inquiry for Ruakura development completed September. Value of iwi assets exceeds $1 billion. TGH acquires shares in Waikato Milking Systems, Go Bus and Genesis Energy. Rotokauri joint venture begins 700-900 section residential development.
  19. Chris Joblin succeeds Mike Pohio as CEO.
  20. Ruakura logistics and lifestyle hub secures key resource consents. TGH sells a 50% stake in The Base to Kiwi Property for $192.5 million.
  21. Earthworks commenced on first 6ha of the 30ha Ruakura Inland Port. Agreement reached with Auckland Airport to build a second luxury hotel at Auckland International Airport. Paataka Kai, our initiative to support marae with kai, launched.
  22. Construction of the Novotel Tainui Hamilton Hotel 40-room extension commenced. 100 sections sold at Rotokauri Rise subdivision.
  23. Construction of Te Arikinui Pullman Auckland Airport Hotel underway. Ruakura partnership agreement with Port of Tauranga announced.